Lab Members

The Harvard Biodesign Lab brings together a highly multidisciplinary group of researchers and staff from the engineering, industrial design, apparel and medical communities to develop technologies that augment and restore human performance. In addition to traditional academic research, the lab is also highly translation-focused and has a track record of securing and delivering on large government funded projects (e.g. DARPA Warrior Web) that partially or fully support dedicated staff engineers who are part of the Wyss Institute’s translation team and work directly alongside the academic researchers.

Biodesign Lab 2014 Summer Trip to Purity Springs Biodesign Lab 2017 Lab Retreat at Friendly Crossways



Professor Conor Walsh (PI)

Conor is the John L. Loeb Associate Professor of Engineering and Applied Sciences at the Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences and a Core Faculty Member at the Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering.



Lab Administrator

Frey Tesfaye


Postdoctoral Researchers and Research Associates
Dr. Oluwaseun Araromi
Postdoctoral Research Fellow - co-advised with Rob Wood
Dr. Myunghee Kim
Postdoctoral Research Fellow - co-advised with Scott Kuindersma
Dr. Juha-Pekka Kulmala
Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Dr. Richard Nuckols
Postdoctoral Research Fellow - co-advised with Rob Howe


Dr. Chris Payne
Research Associate
Dr. Puneet Singh
Postdoctoral Research Fellow - co-advised with Maurice Smith
Dr. Franchino Porciuncula
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr. Lizeth Sloot
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr. Hongqiang Wang
Postdoctoral Research Fellow - co-advised with Rob Wood


Graduate Students
Krithika Swaminathan (G1)
Yichu Jin (G1)
a Jinwon Chung (G1)
Vanessa Sanchez (G1)
Yu Meng (Kate) Zhou (G1)
Elizabeth Gallardo (G2)
Christopher Siviy (G2)
Martina Moyne (G2) – co-advised with Donal Holland at UCD
Jinsoo Kim (G3)
Ciaran O’Neill (G3)
Evelyn Park (G3)
Sangjun Lee (G4)
Brendan Quinlivan (G4)
Jaehyun Bae (G5)
Fionnuala Connolly (G6) – co-advised with Katia Bertoldi
Ye Ding (G6)
Joshua Gafford (G6)


Research Staff and Wyss Staff Collaborators
Dheepak Arumukhom Revi
Research Fellow
Maria Athanassiu
Electrical Engineer
Lauren Baker
Research Fellow
Sara Berndt
Research Fellow
Chih-Kang Chang
Research Fellow
dc Dabin Choe
Research Fellow
Megan Clarke
Research Fellow
Asa Eckert Erdheim
Robotics Engineer
Dr. Ignacio Galiana
Robotics Engineer
Taylor Greenberg Goldy
Research Fellow
Roman Heimgartner
Research Fellow
Max Herman
Software Engineer
brice Brice Iwangou
Electrical Research Assistant
nikos Dr. Nikolaos Karavas
Controls Engineer
Katarzyna Matlak
Research Fellow
Nicolas Menard
Research Fellow
Patrick Murphy
Electromechanical Engineer
Kathleen O'Donnell
Industrial Designer
Dorothy Orzel
Pattern Maker
David Perry
Staff Engineer

Nathan Phipps
Industrial Designer


Dr. Dmitry Popov
Wyss Technology Development Fellow


Mike Rouleau
Electromechanical Engineer
Danielle Ryan
Functional Apparel Designer
David Van Story
Visiting Researcher
Ruth Peña Velasco
Research Fellow
Diana Wagner
Functional Apparel Designer


Visiting Graduate Students
Philipp Arens
TU Munich - Jan 10th
Blandine Clement
EPFL - Feb 26th
Carolina Correia
University of Twente - Jan 8th
Tim Moser
TU Munich - Feb 15th
Janet Zhang
Hong Kong Polytechnic University - Mar 1st


Undergraduate Students
Julia Davis
Adham Meguid
Rainy Michelsen Rainy Michelsen
Kyle Yoshida


Lab Alumni